Hi, Well, the idea of Workspaces was to promote collaboration and openness. Joining a workspace was about gaining the ability to collaborate (edit), while viewing the contents by default was about the "wiki principle". The idea was just like in the main wiki, you are a (new?) user who can view everything that others do (by default) but can only edit things you own or that have been granted edit access to. Why should other wikis be different, when it is supposed to be an ecosystem? How would it feel like to be a new user in a wiki where you can not see any existing or new documents/spaces unless you`re explicitly given access to? I`m not sure it's such a great idea to lock stuff up by default in a wiki. You do this kind of stuff with other types of software, but, by default, it should not be done with a wiki. Note: We`ll not get in a discussion about edit rights being on by default, AFAIK this being another wiki principle (more or less). Of course, being an enterprise wiki, we should have the *possibility/option* to lock or hide some parts off, but that`s not the point. The question was about what to do by default. That`s how I see it at least. Thanks, Eduard On Thu, Jan 30, 2014 at 6:40 PM, Guillaume "Louis-Marie" Delhumeau < [email protected]> wrote:
Hi devs.
Since 5.3, we have this issue opened: http://jira.xwiki.org/browse/XWIKI-9726 - The default rights of subwikis has changed.
I am not shocked by the new settings - same as in the main wiki - but it is different from what Workspaces used to be.
What do you think about it?
Thanks, Louis-Marie _______________________________________________ devs mailing list [email protected] http://lists.xwiki.org/mailman/listinfo/devs