When I click edit on a XWiki page and "Save and View" or "Save and Continue", without making any changes, a new version number is created. This is contrary to existing conventions in SVN, which will intelligently check whether there are any modifications that would warrant a new version number. Is this a fundamental different view of the XWiki development team or is it a technical difficulty or simply something that has not been implemented yet?
It's just not implemented yet. I have wanted to fix this for a long time but have never actually taken the time to do it. I'd like this too.
Also, it would be nice to prevent the creation of a new version on multiple edits within a short time. These are the typical edits when you forgot something, spotted a misspelled word, just wanted to see if everything looked fine in saved view etc... A good rule is creating only one new version for all the edits one user made within the same hour. It would make revision history cleaner and more usable.